1950s teen blouse

Hey everyone!

This summer, I also made me a blouse that I really love to wear!

I called it « 1950s teen blouse » because it is very neutral, very « nice », with its blue flowers on white fabric.

Image

This is the 1950s pattern🙂 (Simplicity S.116)

IMG_2666

It is made with lightweight cotton fabric I bought to a sweet lady. In fact, I particularly love this blouse because the fabric itself has a little story : She inherited it from her mother, who volontary sewed clothes for homeless, and people in need. This is the kind of beahviour that really enforces respect!

ImageImageImageImage

Although I interfaced it, the collar doesn’t hold up as much as the pattern design, so it lays flat, and creates a very wide collar ^^.

Image

Oh and the nice detail, I like how the collar is built : it is in two pieces gathering on the back. It was a little difficult to understand how to join it because it was almost too easy for a collar ^^.

Image

Détail
Fabric close up

Image

1950s teen blouse wearing manual

You can wear it with a pair of jeans, but its also really confortable with a jersey skirt!  And, with this super confortable outfit, you can :

– Survive from a hot summer day that is really too hot and makes you grumpy…Image

Image

– Feel like a s̶h̶o̶w̶ ̶o̶f̶f̶  well dressed up princess…

Image

– Find an handsome prince and take a picture together with a strangely-too-pink-building-that-you-don’t-even-see-on-the-picture in the background…

Image

(matching clothes, you noticed that? :p)

– Pose por a « singing in the rain » photograph t̶r̶y̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶n̶o̶t̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶s̶l̶i̶p̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶d̶a̶m̶n̶ ̶w̶e̶t̶ ̶l̶a̶m̶p̶p̶o̶s̶t̶ swinging with an umbrella like a real girly Gene Kelly …

Image

– Make some friends….

Image

– Look for a future trip…

Image

– And finally refuel your car…

Image

… And drive safely back home🙂

Image

Thanks for reading!

13 commentaires Ajoutez le vôtre

  1. mariedoll dit :

    I adore your blouse. I have a thing for white cotton vintage blouses. They’re so cute with skirts.

    1. Oh thanks! Yeaare white vintage blouses are really nice and easy to wear🙂

  2. girliefrank dit :

    That last picture is the best! It made me laugh.
    (Pretty blouse too!)

    1. Haha great, it was the purpose😀 . I also laughed a lot while writing this post ^^

    2. Oh and thanks for the blouse!🙂

  3. Elise Lin dit :

    That’s a sweet blouse! I love it when there’s a story behind the fabric🙂 It looks great on you. Is that Eurodisney? I have great memories from there. You made fun pictures, it looks like you had a great time.

    1. Thanks Elise Lin! Oh yeah I love it too, these kind of stories are really moving! Yep Eurodisney, we went there for my birthday with my boyfriend. As we are grown up children, we really had a fun time being dumb ^^ haha!

  4. Bry dit :

    Wow, you are very prolific. How do you finish so many projects in such a short time? Love your blouse. What pattern did you use?

    1. Hi Bry! The post has been updated, now you can see the pattern😉 . Simplicity S116 . Well I am in a kind of « before back to school » hurry and crazy sewing ^^. This blouse was made earlier this summer, but I will have soon a new outfit to share😉

  5. Matt C. dit :

    Here’s another vintage « party song » you might like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GK72A_eV8Lg

    I just found that video a few days ago… it is an old fashioned music video. I enjoy digging up this old stuff and I actually like the music too.

    1. Hi Matt! Thanks for the Glen Miller video🙂 . Kind of funny one ^^

Laisser un commentaire

